Academic Calendar

Main content

Semester dates

Spring Semester 2017 Monday, 20.02.2017 - Friday, 02.06.2017
Autumn Semester 2017 Monday, 18.09.2017 - Friday, 22.12.2017
Spring Semester 2018 Monday, 19.02.2018 - Friday, 01.06.2018
Autumn Semester 2018 Monday, 17.09.2018 - Friday, 21.12.2018

Overview semester dates

2017

Doctoral Awards Ceremony Friday, 21.04.2017
"Sechseläuten" (Zurich spring festival) Monday, 24.04.2017 Show 
 
No classes in the afternoon, buildings closed from 13:00 h!
 
Labour Day Monday, 01.05.2017 Show 
 
no classes, buildings closed
 
 
Ascension Day Thursday, 25.05.2017 Show 
 
no classes, buildings closed, end of classes on Wednesday, Mai 24, 17:00
 
 
Friday after Ascension Day: classes Friday, 26.05.2017
End of Spring Semester 2017 Friday, 02.06.2017
Whitsuntide Saturday, 03.06.2017 - Monday, 05.06.2017 Show 
 
Buildings closed
 
 
Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 09.06.2017
Doctoral Awards Ceremony Friday, 21.07.2017
Swiss National Day Tuesday, 01.08.2017 Show 
 
Buildings closed
 
 
Examination session Monday, 07.08.2017 - Friday, 01.09.2017
Entrance examinations Monday, 21.08.2017 - Thursday, 31.08.2017
Information days for final-year secondary school students Wednesday, 06.09.2017 - Thursday, 07.09.2017
"Knabenschiessen" (local Zurich festival) Monday, 11.09.2017 Show 
 
Buildings open all day!
 
Start of Autumn Semester 2017 Monday, 18.09.2017 Show 
 
First semester day
 
Classes begin Tuesday, 19.09.2017
Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 13.10.2017
application deadline session examinations and end of semester examinations Sunday, 15.10.2017
Doctoral Awards Ceremony Friday, 20.10.2017
ETH Faculty Retreat Friday, 10.11.2017 Show 
 
No classes after 12 am
 
 
Dies Academicus (“ETH Day”) Saturday, 18.11.2017 Show 
 
Main building HG closed, Sport Center Polyterrasse MM open
 
 
Polyball (annual student ball) Saturday, 25.11.2017 Show 
 
Buildings HG and MM closed starting Saturday, 17:00 and Sunday
 
 
 
End of Autumn Semester 2017 Friday, 22.12.2017
Christmas break Saturday, 23.12.2017 - Tuesday, 02.01.2018 Show 
 
Christmas break, buildings closed!
 
 
     

2018

Doctoral Graduation date Monday, 08.01.2018
Doctoral Awards Ceremony Friday, 19.01.2018
Examination session Monday, 22.01.2018 - Friday, 16.02.2018
Start of Spring Semester 2018 Monday, 19.02.2018
application deadline session examinations and end of semester examinations Sunday, 18.03.2018
Doctoral Graduation date Monday, 19.03.2018
Week after Easter: no classes Friday, 30.03.2018 - Sunday, 08.04.2018 Show 
 
End of classes on Thursday, March 29, 2018, 17:00, no classes up to and including Sunday, April 8, 2018
Buildings closed over Easter from Good Friday until Easter Monday!
 
 
 
"Sechseläuten" (Zurich spring festival) Monday, 16.04.2018 Show 
 
No classes in the afternoon, buildings closed from 13:00 h!
 
Doctoral Awards Ceremony Friday, 20.04.2018
Labour Day Tuesday, 01.05.2018 Show 
 
no classes, buildings closed
 
 
Ascension Day Thursday, 10.05.2018 Show 
 
no classes, buildings closed, end of classes on Wednesday, Mai 9, 17:00
 
 
Friday after Ascension Day: classes Friday, 11.05.2018
Whitsuntide Saturday, 19.05.2018 - Monday, 21.05.2018 Show 
 
Buildings closed
 
 
End of Spring Semester 2018 Friday, 01.06.2018
Doctoral Graduation date Monday, 11.06.2018
Doctoral Awards Ceremony Friday, 20.07.2018
Swiss National Day Wednesday, 01.08.2018 Show 
 
Buildings closed
 
 
Examination session Monday, 06.08.2018 - Friday, 31.08.2018
Entrance examinations Monday, 20.08.2018 - Thursday, 30.08.2018
Information days for final-year secondary school students Wednesday, 05.09.2018 - Thursday, 06.09.2018
"Knabenschiessen" (local Zurich festival) Monday, 10.09.2018 Show 
 
Buildings open all day!
 
Start of Autumn Semester 2018 Monday, 17.09.2018 Show 
 
First semester day
 
Classes begin Tuesday, 18.09.2018
Doctoral Awards Ceremony Friday, 05.10.2018
application deadline session examinations and end of semester examinations Sunday, 14.10.2018
Doctoral Graduation date Monday, 15.10.2018
Dies Academicus (“ETH Day”) Saturday, 17.11.2018 Show 
 
Main building HG closed, Sport Center Polyterrasse MM open
 
 
Polyball (annual student ball) Saturday, 01.12.2018 Show 
 
Buildings HG and MM closed starting Saturday, 17:00 and Sunday
 
 
 
End of Autumn Semester 2018 Friday, 21.12.2018
Christmas break Saturday, 22.12.2018 - Wednesday, 02.01.2019 Show 
 
Christmas break, buildings closed!
 
 
     

2019

Examination session Monday, 21.01.2019 - Friday, 15.02.2019
Start of Spring Semester 2019 Tuesday, 19.02.2019
application deadline session examinations and end of semester examinations Sunday, 17.03.2019
"Sechseläuten" (Zurich spring festival) Monday, 08.04.2019 Show 
 
No classes in the afternoon, buildings closed from 13:00 h!
 
Week after Easter: no classes Friday, 19.04.2019 - Sunday, 28.04.2019 Show 
 
End of classes on Thursday, April 18, 2019, 17:00, no classes up to and including Sunday, April 28, 2019
Buildings closed over Easter from Good Friday until Easter Monday!
 
 
 
     

Conferences D-HEST

Department conference

DeptK 17.05.2017
DeptK 04.10.2017
DeptK 13.12.2017
DeptK 07.03.2018
DeptK 23.05.2018
DeptK 03.10.2018
DeptK 12.12.2018
     

Master's degree graduation ceremony

Masterfeier BWS/HST 07.12.2017
Masterfeier Lebensmittelwissenschaft 16.03.2018
Masterfeier BWS/HST 14.12.2018
     

Grading conference

NoK 14.09.2017
NoK 22.02.2018
NoK 13.09.2018
     

Professors' conference

ProfK 10.05.2017
ProfK 27.09.2017
ProfK 06.12.2017
ProfK 28.02.2018
ProfK 16.05.2018
ProfK 26.09.2018
ProfK 05.12.2018
     

Meeting dates

Heads of Department & Executive Board planning meeting

Heads of Department & Executive Board planning meeting 03.10.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
Heads of Department & Executive Board planning meeting 13.03.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Heads of Department & Executive Board planning meeting 02.10.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
     

Conference of the Heads of Department

Conference of the Heads of Department 02.05.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 06.06.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 05.09.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 31.10.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 12.12.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 30.01.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 09.04.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 08.05.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 05.06.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 04.09.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 13.11.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
Conference of the Heads of Department 11.12.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Jasmin Kirschbaum, Generalsekretariat
044 632 20 20 oder jasmin.kirschbaum@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
 
 
     

President's approval of new professorships

President's approval of new professorships 24.10.2017 Show 
Stab Professuren, Katharina Hagenauer
 
 
     

General Faculty Conference

Professors’ Conference

University Assembly

University Assembly 27.04.2017 Show 
University Assembly 16.05.2017 Show 
 
Joint meeting with AE of EPFL, in Lausanne
 
University Assembly 22.06.2017 Show 
University Assembly 12.10.2017 Show 
University Assembly 09.11.2017 Show 
Nach Bedarf.
 
University Assembly 14.12.2017 Show 
University Assembly 18.01.2018 Show 
University Assembly 22.02.2018 Show 
University Assembly 15.03.2018 Show 
University Assembly 26.04.2018 Show 
University Assembly 24.05.2018 Show 
University Assembly 21.06.2018 Show 
 
Ausweichdatum 28.6.2018
 
University Assembly 11.10.2018 Show 
University Assembly 08.11.2018 Show 
University Assembly 13.12.2018 Show 
     

Lecturers’ Conference (KdL)

Lecturers’ Conference (KdL) 12.05.2017 Show 
Lecturers’ Conference (KdL) 06.10.2017 Show 
Lecturers’ Conference (KdL) 01.12.2017 Show 
Lecturers’ Conference (KdL) 09.03.2018 Show 
Lecturers’ Conference (KdL) 18.05.2018 Show 
Lecturers’ Conference (KdL) 05.10.2018 Show 
Lecturers’ Conference (KdL) 30.11.2018 Show 
     

Conference of the Directors of Study

Conference of the Directors of Study 18.05.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Marianne Schwyter, Assistenz Rektor/in
044 632 20 74 oder marianne.schwyter@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
Conference of the Directors of Study 05.10.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Marianne Schwyter, Assistenz Rektor/in
044 632 20 74 oder marianne.schwyter@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
Conference of the Directors of Study 07.12.2017 Show 
Kontakt:
Marianne Schwyter, Assistenz Rektor/in
044 632 20 74 oder marianne.schwyter@sl.ethz.ch
 
 
Conference of the Directors of Study 08.03.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Marianne Schwyter, Assistenz Rektor/in
044 632 20 74 oder marianne.schwyter@sl.ethz.ch
 
3. und 3.-letzter Donnerstag im Semester, ausser es ist Auffahrt -> am Dienstag vorher
 
 
Conference of the Directors of Study 17.05.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Marianne Schwyter, Assistenz Rektor/in
044 632 20 74 oder marianne.schwyter@sl.ethz.ch
 
3. und 3.-letzter Donnerstag im Semester, ausser es ist Auffahrt -> am Dienstag vorher
 
Conference of the Directors of Study 04.10.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Marianne Schwyter, Assistenz Rektor/in
044 632 20 74 oder marianne.schwyter@sl.ethz.ch
 
3. und 3.-letzter Donnerstag im Semester, ausser es ist Auffahrt -> am Dienstag vorher
 
Conference of the Directors of Study 06.12.2018 Show 
Kontakt:
Marianne Schwyter, Assistenz Rektor/in
044 632 20 74 oder marianne.schwyter@sl.ethz.ch
 
3. und 3.-letzter Donnerstag im Semester, ausser es ist Auffahrt -> am Dienstag vorher
 
     
 
 
Page URL: https://www.hest.ethz.ch/en/news/academic-calendar.html
Sun Apr 30 15:47:40 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich